Cross Country wraps up season at CCAA Championships

ACAC XC champion from two weeks ago, Edwin Kaitany was undefeated all year until today; he earned a deserving bronze medal leading all the way to the last 600m when he passed the lead to Stephan St Martin from Notre-Dame-de-Foy. Edwin’s time was a season best of 25:50min under cool weather and wet ground conditions. He received the All Canadian honors for his successful season.

Alex Harding ran his personal best time and had a great race as he claimed the 13th spot with a 26:41 clocking, Alex Andres 81st   (30.12), Chris Poytress 88th ( 30.33) and Cody

Foggin 104th (32.01) out of 116 runners….the mens team placed 9th out of 21 full teams. Both Edwin Kaitany and Alex Harding will receive all Tournament honors. Fanshawe College men won CCAA once again…


The greatest surprise was and has been all season… our Kodiak women’s team. They were ranked 3rd in the Country and placed 4th out of 21 Colleges (2nd highest Alberta team). UBC Okanagan won the women’s contest ahead of SAIT. Rookie Mikaela York placed a strong 12th with 20.21min as a season best, Sarah Makowsky 26 (20.49), Rachel McKenzie 32nd (21.06), Hattie Kanyo 56th (22.04), Mackenzie Koopmans 60th (22.08), and Caylee Vogel 76th (22.52)…running some of their best times this season! A super team effort by these highly motivated women…they are the fastest and highest placed team we have ever entered at the CCAA level without the insurgence of international recruits. Mikaela York will also receive all Tournament honors and a provincial team Gold as she was part of the ACAC winning women’s team. Edwin Kaitany and Alex Harding was part of the 3rd placed men’s ACAC provincial team.